Scotch Eggs

It’s nearing the end of June and with Mai’s kindergarten graduation coming up, I find myself waxing nostalgic of some of my own graduation memories. In particular, I remember one of my favorite history teachers in high school, Mrs. Fisk, who had a tradition of inviting her senior students over at the end of the year for afternoon tea. Mrs. Fisk, you see, was a very proper Englishwoman who had regaled and delighted us throughout the years with interesting sayings and anecdotes and who thought it was only right proper to send us off onto our collegiate careers with a good old fashioned English tea party.

A myriad of tea pots (and their adorable tea cozys) awaited us in her parlor as well as an inviting table full of shortbread, tea sandwiches, fruit, and this particularly unusual treat…scotch eggs. I remember trying it with some curiosity and was very pleasantly surprised. A single hard boiled egg enveloped in a layer of sausage with some crisp breading on the outside. I was taken with it from that moment on and to this day, I have always remembered Mrs. Fisk’s scotch eggs with fondness.

A delightfully savory bite in a seemingly plain package, scotch eggs have been a long standing tradition across the pond in the UK. Served as a quick, savory snack at picnics and even in pubs, scotch eggs are very easy to make and are easily adaptable to suit your own tastes and preferences. I prefer mine with a bit of chopped onion mixed into the sausage filling, while I have seen others mix curry into it for a bit of exotic flair. Wherever your tastes take you…the world is your egg, so to speak!

In wanting to recreate this myself, my initial research led me to the conclusion that in order to achieve that crisp outside texture, this had to be deep fried. Now, you and I both know that while I may love love LOVE these things to death, I could not bring myself to deep fry these in good conscience. It’s sausage…and egg…and now deep fry it? HOLY CHOLESTEROL LEVELS BATMAN! Sorry, I just couldn’t do it. Instead, I have taken to cooking these in the oven and, honestly, I find them to be just as good. While I’m sure the traditionalists will balk, my heart and arteries, as will yours, are ever grateful.

Scotch Eggs
As envisioned by TastyDesu

Yields 4 servings

Ingredients

1lb sausage (I usually use 1 tube of breakfast sausage)
1/4 chopped onion
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 dash of ground cinnamon
1 dash of nutmeg
4 large eggs, hard boiled and peeled

About 2 tablespoons flour
1 large egg, raw
1 tablespoon water
2 cups fine dry breadcrumbs

Nonstick cooking spray

Preparation

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Lightly spray a pan with non stick cooking oil. (I used an 8×8 glass one)

Add onions, parsley, garlic powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg to sausage. Mix thoroughly and divide roughly into 4 equal parts.

In a medium sized bowl, crack open the raw egg and add 1 tablespoon of water. Whisk to form an egg wash.

Gently dampen one hardboiled egg with water and roll into flour to coat. Take 1 portion of the sausage mixture and flatten into a patty with a larger indentation in the middle. Place floured egg in indentation and gently wrap the sausage patty around the egg, covering the egg completely in sausage. Smooth and pat the sausage ball so that no creases or cracks are visible. Dip into egg wash mixture and roll to coat completely. Remove and place into breadcrumbs, again, rolling to cover completely. Place in prepared baking dish. Repeat with remaining 3 eggs.

Lightly spray scotch eggs with some additional cooking spray before placing into oven. Bake until golden brown, about 20-25 minutes.

~ by tastydesu on June 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

