Chunky Peanut, Chocolate, and Cinnamon Cookies

I’m back! While I never actually stopped cooking, I admit, I did get sidetracked from posting with the siren call of summer and vacation! Back to the business though…and today’s business is COOKIES. Honestly, I could probably count on one hand the number of cookies that I’ve met that I didn’t like. Let’s face it, cookies are like the unsung language of love and friendship. I mean really, when was the last time you met a cookie that didn’t put a smile on your face?

These chunky peanut cookies put a smile on my face and those of my coworkers, without a doubt. I decided one day that I had a hankering for a peanut cookie, but not just a run of the mile, oh-heres-some-token-peanut-butter cookie, noooo, I want a REAL peanut cookie that had whole peanuts in it. And how, but Martha Stewart to my rescue?

These cookies are one of the few cookies that touts peanuts, the chunky, toothsome kind, and not peanut butter, as its main headliner. And it succeeds! These cookies came together in a snap when, at 7:30pm one night, the craving inspiration struck me and I began foraging around in my cupboard for ingredients. By bedtime, the house smelled divinely of peanutty goodness and I had a bounty of treats of my coworkers (and Alex’s!) to enjoy!

Chunky Peanut, Chocolate, and Cinnamon Cookies
Adapted from Martha Stewart

Yields about 5 dozen

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1 cup packed light-brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
2/3 cup roasted, salted peanuts, coarsely chopped**
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Preparation

Arrange racks to middle of oven and preheat to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. In a large bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Using an electric mixer, mix butters on medium until well combined, about 2 minutes. Mixture will look light brown. Add in sugars and continue mixing another 2 minutes. Add in eggs and mix, one at a time, until incorporated. Add in flour and mix until just combined. Using a wooden spoon, gently fold in chocolate chips, peanuts and vanilla until evenly distributed. Refrigerate dough 15-20 minutes, until it is slightly firm.

Scoop dough into 1″ balls and space 2-3 inches apart on prepared baking sheets. Using the palm of your hand, flatten each ball slightly and bake until just golden, 11-13 minutes. Transfer cookies to wire racks to cool.

Once thoroughly cooled, cookies will keep in airtight container, about 1 week…if they can last that long!

**Liz’s Note: Make sure to read the labels of the peanuts you’re buying unless you’re buying whole, unshelled. My local supermarket had several different choices of “roasted peanuts” to choose from and I learned a while ago that not all roasted peanuts are created equal. Most manufacturers are wont to add some seasonings and coloring preservatives.

~ by tastydesu on August 29, 2011.

3 Responses to “Chunky Peanut, Chocolate, and Cinnamon Cookies”

  1. The photos are great and these cookies sound and look great. Cheers.

  2. I love, love, love the idea of peanuts AND cinnamon together. THis cookie looks to die for. YUM!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

