Heart Crusted Peach and Cardamom Pie

I love pie. Don’t get me wrong…I’m always a sucker for the next new tiramisu or cheesecake that graces the menu, but in my heart of hearts, I will always love me a good ol’ fashioned slice of pie. Golden, flakey, fruit filled little packages of heaven. Seriously, have you ever met a slice of pie that you didn’t find charming?

With the summer bounty in full swing and me having an unending supply of Jersey peaches *swoon*, I find myself thinking of nothing but peach pies. Granted, there’s something utterly magical about biting into a ripe, juicy Jersey peach that almost instantly transports me back to my childhood when my parents would take me fruit picking, but I wanted to make some new memories as an adult with my bounty of peaches! A pie worthy of my 35 years of concocting in the kitchen!

So let’s talk pie fillings. This is where we can get super creative, right? Everybody always looks to the crust as the first indicator of a great pie, but let’s face it, it’s the amazing filling inside that really makes your heart sing! A great crust will never be enough to save a lackluster filling which is why I totally fell in love with this recipe. ost fruit pie fillings consist of fruit, sugar, cornstarch, and maybe some juice. This recipe calls for addition of cardamom which, I’m telling you, if you’ve never added to fruit pies, you’re missing out! Cardamom adds that extra ooomph of flavor and lifts this peach pie up to the next level. So for you flavor savors out there, this pie is for you!

I changed the recipe of this pie from a single crust to a double one because, well, golden, flakey crust. Hellooo? Plus, call it my OCD, but I like having my pie slice “contained” if you will with 2 beautiful crusts. The top crust does take a bit of effort to roll, cut, and re-roll, but the end result is a pie that is so delectably cute, your heart will absolutely melt. I know I sure did.

Heart Crusted Peach and Cardamom Pie

Adapted from Bon Appétit | August 2009

Ingredients

Crust:
2 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
3 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) well chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
6 tablespoons (or more) ice water
2 1/2 – 3″ heart or scallop shaped cookie cutter

Filling:
2 1/2 pounds firm but ripe peaches, peeled, halved, pitted, sliced 1/2 inch thick
1/3 cup sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
1 egg, beaten to blend (for glaze)
1 1/2 tablespoons raw sugar*

Preparation

For crust, blend flour, sugar and salt in processor until well mixed. Add in butter, pulsing mixture until it resembles very coarse meal. Add in 6 tablespoons of water and continue pulsing until moist clumps form. Add in additional water by the teaspoonful if dough is too dry. Turn out dough onto lightly floured surface and knead gently until dough comes together, approximately 4 to 5 turns. Divide in half. Flatten each half into a disk and wrap tightly in plastic wrap. Chill at least 1 hour or up to 1 day.

Roll out 1 disk onto lightly floured work surface into an 11 inch round. Place and center into a 9″ diameter glass pie dish. Set aside and chill in fridge. Roll out second disk into 13 inch round and using shaped cookie cutter, cut shapes from dough. If necessary, remove dough scraps, reroll, and cut out additional shapes for a total of about 25 shapes. Set aside and chill on sheet in fridge while preparing filling.

Position rack in center of oven and preheat to 400 degrees. Place peaches in medium bowl and add sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice and cardamom. Toss to coat. Transfer peach filling to prepared pie dish. Carefully arrange dough cutouts on top of filling in concentric circles, slightly overlapping. Cover pie completely. Brush crust with beaten egg, then sprinkle with raw sugar.

Place pie on rimmed baking sheet. Bake until crust is golden brown, peaches are tender, and juices are bubbling thickly at edges, about 40-45 minutes. Transfer pie to rack and cool at least 30 minutes.

* Also called turbinado or demerara sugar; available at most supermarkets and at natural foods stores.

~ by tastydesu on July 30, 2012.

3 Responses to “Heart Crusted Peach and Cardamom Pie”

  1. […] Here is an example – this blogger has done a superb job, geez that looks like a tasty pie! Herb Crusted Peach and Cardamom Pie * Cut out little shapes to make a border around the outside edge of your pie top. * Cut shapes out […]

  2. YUMMO! This looks so good. I have posted to a link to this recipe in my blog post on pies… Hope you don’t mind :)
    Well done!
    Claire.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

