Banana Bread

Whenever I think of a baked good associated with breakfast, I think of banana bread first for some reason. Or, as I like to call it first thing in the morning while still bleary eyed and full of bad english, “banananananar bread” Come on, say it with me…you know you want to add those few extra syllables in there because it’s fun and you can! But nothing beats the smell of freshly brewing coffee and warm banana bread in the morning. It’s one of those olfactory combinations that instantly heralds the start of a great day!

Considered a quickbread because it does not utilize any yeast to leaven it, my first taste of banana bread came by way of my friend Viv. A wonderful cook and baker, Viv offered me a slice of this bread and at first I was gun-shy. “Fruited bread? Say what?” My only experience prior to this was my mother’s idea of banana bread which, similar to the avocado mash, was a banana mash with bread and condensed milk, baked, and then eaten cold. I tried to avoid anything resembling it as best as I could…until I met this bread, ladies and gents. It was amazing. Moist, bananay, and flavorful, this bread was off the charts good and was the beginning of something wonderful.

Amazingly simple and quick to make, this was my first ever foray into making quickbreads. From the very first batch, it was a resounding success! Adding my own tweaks from a standard core recipe I found, I think the version I give you below will be one of the best ones you’ll ever sink your teeth into!

That being said, banana bread can come in many variations…Many. Plain, mixed with nuts, chocolate chips, you name it! This makes it a very versatile bread that’s infinitely adaptable according to your tastes. I personally love it with toasted pecans, not walnuts as traditionally used, and an extra hint of cinnamon just makes it go va va vooooom! in my opinion.

Just remember to not overmix this batter…mix until just incorporated and pour into prepared loaf pans immediately to bake. Overmixing will result in a less tender and more dense bread.

Banana Bread
As envisioned by TastyDesu

Ingredients

3 to 4 ripe bananas
1 egg, beaten
1/4 cup melted butter
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon real vanilla extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
1/2 to 2/3 cup toasted, chopped pecans

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour 2 loaf pans. Set aside.

Mash the bananas in a large bowl. Add butter, egg, cinnamon, vanilla, and pecans to banana and stir until mixed well.

In separate bowl, sift flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda. Add to banana mixture and mix until just incorporated. Pour into prepared loaf pans. Smooth surface of batter and using a knife, make a vertical slit in the batter to allow for gas to escape during baking.

Bake until a toothpick stuck into the bread comes out clean, 55 to 60 minutes. Slice and serve.

Note: Bread can keep well wrapped tightly in foil for up to 3 days at room temperature

~ by tastydesu on January 25, 2010.

One Response to “Banana Bread”

  1. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…….

Leave a Reply

 
