Chicken Cutlets with Spinach and Brie

About a year or so ago, while passing my life away waiting in line at the supermarket checkout line, I happened to page through a “Food Everyday” magazine and found this recipe. It was a sheer stroke of luck, folks, because this recipe is quick, easy, and only uses 5 ingredients. Translation, it was something that I totally could remember on my own after I got home to find and recreate! And recreate it I did…for you see, this has brie in it and that alone guaranteed it a spot on my dinner plate within the next few days…

If you’ve never had brie before, I suggest that you leave your desk right now and go out and get some asap! Usually eaten after it’s been baked, brie has a pleasant, earthy tone that you just don’t find in other cheeses. It pairs up amazingly well with both savory dishes or, as is my favorite, with sweet fruits such as pears, apples, and apricots. If you’re feeling really spicy, you can even make brie en croute and wow your friends and family with your culinary prowess!

I supposed I should get off my soapbox and stop extolling about the virtues of brie. I guess if I must… So let’s talk about this plate of succulent excellence on hand! Chicken + spinach + brie = ?? Hellooooo? Can we say formula for awesome? Here, that magical brie is paired up with a generous swipe of dijon mustard which, in my opinion, manages to bring out even more of that delightful earthy flavor. The spinach finishes it off and gives it a nice counter to keep it from going completely over the top in strong flavors.

Did I mention that you can whip this up in 20 minutes flat including prep time? For almost all of us where there is hardly ever enough time for a quick and tasty meal, I give you this. It delivers and it delivers BIG! Pair it up with a small side salad and you’re done!

Chicken Cutlets with Spinach and Brie
Adapted from Martha Stewart’s ‘Food Everyday’

Ingredients

8 thin chicken cutlets (1 1/2 pounds total)
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 package (10 ounces) frozen leaf spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
4 ounces Brie cheese, cut into 8 slices
Coarse salt and ground pepper to taste

Preparation

Preheat broiler and with rack set about 4 inches away from heat. Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil and coat lightly with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.

Wash and dry chicken thoroughly and lay out on work surface. Dividing evenly, spread one side of each cutlet with mustard, top with spinach and then cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Starting at the short end, roll chicken up tightly, and arrange, seam side down, on sheet. I usually find it better to insert a toothpick into the “seam” to better hold the roll together.

Spray tops of each chicken roll lightly with more spray and then season with salt and pepper. Broil, without turning, until tops are lightly browned and chicken is cooked through, 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let stand 5 minutes before serving.

Note: Depending on thickness of cutlets, it may take a little longer for the chicken to be cooked through. If they start to brown too quickly, switch to 350 degree baking for 5-7 minutes.

~ by tastydesu on January 27, 2010.

7 Responses to “Chicken Cutlets with Spinach and Brie”

  1. I am going to make this one THIS WEEK. Easy and Brie = me

  2. Yeah, I’m going to give this a try next week, nice find.

  3. That looks awesome. How do you thin slice your chicken?

    • Hey Ty, I buy the chicken already pre-sliced into cutlets, but they are about 1/4″ in thickness. If I’m slicing this, or really anything that I want thin and even, I usually parfreeze the meat first before I slice it. You want it firm, but not frozen solid. It will allow your knife to make more uniform and thin slices.

  4. I made this last night and it was AWESOME. I will definitely be making this again

  5. Will try this tonight. You present it so that I already have the recipe memorized!!!

Leave a Reply

 
