Quick Japanese Curry

During the work week, I find myself often challenged to come up with a meal that is easily and quickly made, but is still able to hit the sweet spot of being both tasty and comforting. This curry is my answer to that challenge…easily prepared in about 30 minutes, it’s warm, delicious, and is the perfect thing to have after a long, grueling day in the office (particularly during this never ending winter!!).


Curries can come in many different ways…the traditional that most think of first when they hear of a curry dish is the Indian curry. This is very similar to Indian style curry, but is usually less spicy and has a more sweet, mellow flavor to it. It is easily adaptable if you prefer it a bit more spicy and is very accommodating should you want to add other ingredients and make it your own, which I do!


My sister first introduced me to this curry after spending a semester abroad in Tokyo. Japan isn’t just about sushi, guys! This curry is really good. And I mean really goooood comfort food. If you’ve never tried curry before or if you have, but found the “curriness” a little too strong, you should give this a try. It’s much more mellow and the curry powder isn’t quite as pronounced is it is in other curry preparations.

Another added bonus is that this Japanese curry can easily be made if you purchase curry roux cubes, which in fact, I do! Hey, I’m not above cheating here and there if it helps keep me on my mad-paced schedule! My preferred brand to use is the House Vermont Curry mix, but there are many varieties out there to choose from and I’ve started to see them available in the ethnic food sections of most larger supermarkets.

I’ve deviated from the instructions on the back of the box to make a richer, more full bodied curry. I’ve added coconut milk and cinnamon sticks, as is more traditionally found in Indian preparations, as well as some red bell pepper because I can! As I said before, this curry is extremely forgiving and accommodating should you want to add or tweak anything. Let your imagination be your guide here!

Quick Japanese Curry
As envisioned by TastyDesu

1/2 lb chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 medium onions, cut into 1/2″ wedges
2 medium potatoes, cut into bite sized pieces
1 carrot (or 1/4 lb baby carrots), cut into bit sized pieces
1 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into bite sized pieces
1 tablespoon red pepper flakes (optional)

1 package/box of curry roux sauce (I used House Vermont in Medium)
1 13.5oz can of coconut milk
2 cups water
3-4 cinnamon sticks

Preparation

Lightly brown chicken over medium high heat in 1 tablespoon of oil. Reduce heat to medium and add onions, garlic, potatoes, and carrots and saute until onions begin to soften, about 3 minutes. Add bell peppers and red pepper flakes if using.

Bring heat back up to high. Add coconut milk and water and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and add your curry roux/sauce mixture to the pot. Stir until roux has dissolved and add cinnamon sticks. Return to heat, but turn down to low. Simmer over low heat for about 20 minutes to an hour, stirring occasionally, until curry has thickened. Remove and discard cinnamon sticks. Serve over white rice. Enjoy!

Curry on FoodistaCurry

~ by tastydesu on February 19, 2010.

3 Responses to “Quick Japanese Curry”

  1. YUMMY!! what market do you get the curry mix? I’ve never seen it at Shop Rite(that I recall)

  2. Thanks for posting this! I’m new to the curryworld, and began preparing curry just some weeks ago. This was definitely useful. I even bought curry of the same brand AND spiciness by sheer chance :p

    The results so far have been delicious, so I’ll try going for something a little bit more difficult soon.

Leave a Reply

 
