Molten Chocolate Cakes

Nothing says “I’m a truly glorious dessert” like hot, sexy decadence that oozes appeal…literally. And no, I’m not talking about my next hot date…I’m talking about this unbelievably rich and oh-so-worth-every-stinking-calorie chocolate cake, ladies and gents. Throw away your diet for just the night, and let your sweet tooth have free rein!

I first saw this years ago in a Bon Appétit issue I had gotten, but back then, in my naive years of youth, I had not yet come to my senses and developed my appreciation for chocolate and thus, alas, I waxed right past it. Thank goodness they say with age comes wisdom! I’m not quite yet the sage Old Man Of The Mountain, but I can say that I now know that this cake is IT.

Looking at it now, I can’t believe that I ever passed this recipe on by. Granted, the amount of butter in it does make my heart pause for the merest millisecond, but look at the chocolate that it’s with!! How can you resist its siren call and say no??

The beauty behind this cake is that you just underbake it…so that the center is still oozy and decadent. Pair it up with your favorite vanilla ice cream and I present to you a chocolate, vanilla symphony the likes of which could bring a tear to your eye.

Making these for a dinner party last week, they are extremely schedule friendly. You can whip up the batter the night before, throw it into the fridge, and bake it 15 minutes before you’re ready to serve dessert. People will think you’ve slaved over this awesome treat, and hey, it’s totally ok to take that credit!


Molten Chocolate Cakes

Adapted from Bon Appétit | January 2001

Yields 6 cakes

Ingredients

5 ounces bittersweet (not unsweetened) or semisweet chocolate, chopped
10 tablespoons unsalted butter
3 large eggs
3 large egg yolks
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar***
1/2 cup all purpose flour

Vanilla ice cream

Preparation

Preheat oven to 450°F. Butter six 3/4-cup soufflé dishes or custard cups. Stir chocolate and butter in heavy medium saucepan over low heat until melted. Cool slightly. Whisk eggs and egg yolks in large bowl to blend. Whisk in sugar, then chocolate mixture and flour. Pour batter into dishes, dividing equally. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover; chill.)

Bake cakes until sides are set but center remains soft and runny, about 11 minutes or up to 14 minutes for batter that was refrigerated. Run small knife around cakes to loosen. Immediately turn cakes out onto plates. Serve with ice cream.

***Note: We actually found this to be a bit too sweet with this amount of sugar. I found that anywhere between 3/4 to 1 cup was plenty sweet for our tastes…even paired up with bittersweet chocolate.

~ by tastydesu on March 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “Molten Chocolate Cakes”

  1. maybe you can remove some of the sugar and add vanilla. looks very good

  2. […] when asked so sweetly and particularly when I just happened to have leftover egg whites from the molten chocolate cakes? Kismet? I think […]

Leave a Reply

 
