Smitten’s Chocolate Chip Meringue Cookies

This past weekend, Mai and I spent it at home together doing all sorts of mommy and daughter things. The first thing she asked me was if we could bake cookies, meringue cookies to be exact. How could I deny such a request when asked so sweetly and particularly when I just happened to have leftover egg whites from the molten chocolate cakes? Kismet? I think YES!

Growing up, I had heard of the term “meringue” bandied about here and there as part of a pie topping, but I had never had it myself. When I finally learned what it was, egg whites whipped into a frothy concoction and then baked, I had to admit that it sounded most unimpressive.

And then…I had my first meringue cookie and that all changed forever… My friend Vivian made these, but baked hers in a more traditional manner…letting hers sit overnight in a warmed oven. Baked slowly and gently, these were soft and fluffy little pillows of sugar and utter deliciousness. Delicate and light, I had never had anything like them before in my life and it was amazing!

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get the recipe from her before I moved and so my repertoire was left bereft, until Smitten Kitchen was kind enough to post her mother’s recipe on her blog. Voracious for a way to recreate these tasty delights, I dove in and quickly whipped up a batch.

And this recipe does not disappoint, in any way shape or form. This should be the ONLY way that you should ever use up leftover egg whites from some other cooking adventure. Amazingly simple and quick, these cookies are absolutely divine…delivering just the right amount of chocolate and nuts in every bite surrounded by the wonderfully light meringue.

And about this meringue, Deb has us baking these at a higher temperature for a short period of time. True to her word, it yields a lighter, crackly, crumbly textured cookie which, in my humble opinion, is utterly delightful. Paired up with a hot cup of coffee, this makes the perfect after dinner finisher or mid-afternoon work pick-me-up!

Smitten’s Chocolate Chip Meringue Cookies
Adapted, barely, from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

2 egg whites, room temperature
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup sugar
6 ounces mini chocolate chips
1/4 cup toasted pecans, or walnuts

Preparation

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.

Beat egg whites until foamy. Add salt, cream of tartar and vanilla, and beat mixture again until it holds soft peaks. Add the sugar, gradually, beating the batter until it is stiff. Fold in the nuts and chocolate chips. Spoon batter onto parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Bake for 25 minutes. Allow to cool before moving from baking sheet. Undersides of cookies should be golden or lightly tanned.

Meringues on FoodistaMeringues

~ by tastydesu on March 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
