Grilled Garlic Lime Pork Tenderloin

It’s about that time of the year! Fire up your coals, wood chips, grills and smokers. The era of charred meat is soon to be upon us! It is, by far, one of my favorite ways to cook anything and what better vehicle is there to mix both sunshine and cooking?

Below is one of my favorite ways to prepare pork tenderloins on the grill. I came by the recipe by accident one day flipping through a Gourmet magazine in a time far long long ago while trying to pass the time at check out lane with my mother. Intrigued, I remember noting what an interesting combination the ginger and lime posed. It sounded like something we would have on the dinner table with a nice side of rice.

Of course though, at the time, I didn’t have my own kitchen so I wistfully put the magazine back and went home to partake of my bowl of rice and braised pork (don’t worry, we’ll have THAT story and post later, I promise!). Fast forward a few years later, now the queen of my own culinary kingdom, I was able to find this recipe again on the internet! Hooray! I quickly fired up my Charbroil and went to town.

I was not disappointed…years later, that recipe totally held up its end of the bargain. Moist, flavorful, and easy, it was the perfect dish to pair up with rice just as I had envisioned all those years ago. I went ahead and made a quick herb salad with a champagne vinaigrette with some sesame oil to continue the asian flair.

The marinade here is a snap to put together and, in fact, I just rough chop everything and throw into the blender and let it rip. It shouldn’t take anymore than 10 minutes to assemble and then just marinade it overnight. Next day, light your grill and let the magic begin! Pair it up with a nice light lager and you’re all set!

Grilled Garlic Lime Pork Tenderloin
Adapted from Gourmet, September 1995

Ingredients

6 large garlic cloves, chopped
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1/3 cup fresh lime juice
1/2 cup olive oil
cayenne to taste

4 pork tenderloins (about 3/4 pound each), trimmed

Preparation

In a blender or small food processor blend marinade ingredients with salt and pepper to taste.

In a large, sealable plastic bag combine pork with marinade. Seal bag, pressing out excess air, and put in a shallow baking dish. Marinate pork, chilled, turning occasionally, at least 1 day and up to 2 days.

Prepare grill.

Let pork stand at room temperature about 30 minutes before grilling. Remove pork from marinade, letting excess drip off, and grill on an oiled rack set 5 to 6 inches over glowing coals, turning every 5 minutes, until a meat thermometer registers 160°F., 15 to 20 minutes.

Transfer meat to a cutting board and let stand 5 minutes before slicing.

Pork on FoodistaPork

~ by tastydesu on March 19, 2010.

One Response to “Grilled Garlic Lime Pork Tenderloin”

  1. Gorgeous! My stomach is growling!

Leave a Reply

 
