Hannah’s Pancakes

Sundays are usually my “actually wake up before noon and make a special breakfast day” and one of my favorite things to make are these fluffy and divine pancakes. The secret here is separating the eggs and whipping the whites up before folding into the batter yielding a light, airy pancake that just melts in your mouth with every scrumptious bite!

Now folks, I have to tell you that I’ve come a VERY LONG way in my pancake making evolution. The very first time I ever made pancakes, I had bought the Bisquick “Just Add Water and SHAKE!” bottled mix. Nothing against Bisquick here, but really, those pancakes are the pancakes you eat because you have to because you don’t know any better. Yep, I went there…and I’m not taking it back either!

To continue with my story, I made the Bisquick pancakes for friends of mine who were coming over for breakfast. Not knowing what the heck I was doing, I poured my shaken batter into my hot pan and flipped them when I thought they were ready with, sigh I admit it, chopsticks. They were awful. Misshapen, bland, heavy, pancake pucks.

After such a crushing defeat, I endeavored to find a real recipe and learn how to make this decidedly unVietnamese breakfast treat so that I wouldn’t have to hang my head in shame. And now, I’d like to introduce Hannah’s pancakes…the pancakes that saved me from breakfast fare mortification and embarrassment.

These delightful little gems are surprisingly easy to whip up, literally. Get your mixer at ready and these will come together quicker than you can grab your chopsticks and attempt to pick up a pancake! Light, airy, with just enough resistance as you cut through a stack with your fork to make any IHOP envious, I know in my heart of hearts, that this is THE pancake.

Hannah’s Pancakes
Adapted from Bon Appétit, February 2005

Yields about 28 pancakes

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups whole milk
4 large eggs, separated
2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) or more unsalted butter, melted

2 tablespoons sugar

Additional melted butter
Pure maple syrup

Preparation

Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt in large bowl to blend. Whisk milk and egg yolks in medium bowl to blend. Whisk milk mixture into dry ingredients. Add 2 tablespoons melted butter and whisk until batter is smooth.

Beat egg whites in another medium bowl until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar, beating until stiff but not dry. Fold whites into batter in 2 additions. Heat nonstick griddle or large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Brush generously with additional melted butter. For each pancake, fill 1/4 cup measuring cup half full and drop batter onto griddle. Cook pancakes until bottoms are brown, about 3 minutes. Using spatula, turn pancakes over and cook until bottoms are brown and pancakes are cooked through, about 2 minutes. Transfer to plates. Serve warm with syrup.

~ by tastydesu on March 22, 2010.

One Response to “Hannah’s Pancakes”

  1. These pancakes are delicious!!!! I make them every Sunday for my family adding things like strawberries and bananas and they never fail me 🙂
    I had been using the same recipe for over 20 years (Im only 30) it was past on from my mom to me…but Im sorry mummy…this recipe takes the cake 😉

Leave a Reply

 
