No Bake Strawberry Pie

Pssst…it’s almost strawberry season! I can’t even begin to tell you the joy I feel in my foodie soul when I see those little red gems appearing on the shelves of my grocer and not costing $3413423 a container! Because you know what this means? It’s BERRY TIME and I can indulge in all of the darn strawberries my wee little asian heart desires!

I first really fell in love with these little guys back when I was in high school many moons ago. A local farmer used to drive a truck around in our town during the height of the season and pretty much sell his produce door to door. I remember the first year we moved into my hometown and my mother purchasing the first flat of farm fresh strawberries. I almost singlehandedly housed the whole flat while reading Dune for the first time. Read a page, grab a berry, rinse and repeat. I have to say, it was quite the ingenious method to pass the summer…

Since then, I’ve come across a ton of other ways to enjoy these ruby red little gems and while they are all equally good, I have to say that nothing really beats the beautiful simplicity of just taking a fresh strawberry, dipping it in a bit of white table sugar and popping it into your mouth. But I digress…

Strawberry pie! This recipe is fantastic. It pairs up fresh strawberries, sugar, graham crackers, and an ingredient you never would have thought to go into a pie…Jello! At least I didn’t expect it. I was totally surprised when I first came across this recipe, but I can assure you, it works and it’s ridiculously good. It’s no bake which is perfect to highlight the freshness and overall goodness of your berries. I even take it one step further and cheat a bit by using a store prepared graham cracker crust. Gasp! I know, but this pie is still so good, you’re not going to care. I promise!

No Bake Strawberry Pie
Adapted from Taste of the South

Ingredients

1 baked and ready-to-fill pie shell**
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons corn starch
1 cup boiling water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3oz package strawberry flavored gelatin
2 quarts fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced

Preparation

Place sugar and cornstarch in small saucepan and whisk until thoroughly combined. Add boiling water and extracts. Whisk the mixture over medium heat until it thickens and the sugar dissolves. Remove from heat and add the gelatin, whisking until smooth. Cool mixture to room temperature.

Arrange strawberries in baked pie shell. Pour the cooled filling over the strawberries. Refrigerate for 2 hours or until completely set. Serve alone or, better yet, topped with a dollop of fresh whipped cream!

Can be stored, covered in the refrigerator up to 3 days.

**Note I used a Keebler graham cracker crust here

~ by tastydesu on April 5, 2010.

2 Responses to “No Bake Strawberry Pie”

  1. I was the lucky recipient of this particular pie and it was amazingly tasty =) I also wouldn’t have thought to put Jello in a pie, but it really works.

    Less than three tastydesu!

  2. […] bet! I decided to tweak my no bake strawberry pie to accommodate some blueberries and indulge my chromatic whim. I’m pleased to say that the […]

Leave a Reply

 
