Corn Muffins with Green Onions and Sour Cream

This past week, I decided that I would learn how to make corn muffins. Just like that, I committed to learning something new. And really, that’s how it usually is in my kitchen…I see something somewhere or just wake up one morning with an epiphany and off I go. My mother asked me once if there was a rhyme or reason to what I made and honestly, I couldn’t give her one single logical reason. Oh well. Illogical as it is, there is one thing that is irrefutable…it’s tons of fun! And isn’t that what cooking should be? Fun, inspirational, creative, and an expression of you?

Back to the inspirational moment of the week…corn muffins! To be fair, I’ve always had a weakness for a good corn muffin. Corny, moist, and sweet, it’s like the muffin that thinks it can be savory and totally pulls it off. I remember years ago, I had gone to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC and had my first dish of grits. The grits themselves weren’t anything to write home to mom about, BUT, when on a whim, I slathered it on some corn muffin and threw in some sausage gravy…HOLY MOLY!!!! Outside of realizing that grits’ sole purpose is to be a conduit for other flavors, I learned that corn muffins can be any darn thing you want them to be…and THAT is something you can write home to mom about!

I had bookmarked this recipe ages ago during one of my earlier unrealized quests for cornbread. What intrigued me most about this was the use of corn meal AND corn kernels which results in a full corn flavor. The addition of sour cream promised that this would be moist and the green onions would offer a nice color contrast as well as provide some counterbalance of flavor. Best of all, it looked easy. 1 bowl, measure, mix, pour and bake. This recipe had me written all over it.

As expected, they were a cinch to prep and bake. The resulting corn muffins did have a fantastic corn flavor…the whole corn kernels gave it a nice contrast of texture and lent their own sweetness without being overly sugary. I think this would be even better if you folded some diced ham or crumbled bacon into the batter before baking and would be a great dish to serve at brunch!

Corn Muffins with Green Onions and Sour Cream
Adapted from Bon Appétit, November 1994

Yields 12 muffins

Ingredients

1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 cup sour cream
2 large eggs
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted, cooled
1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels, thawed, drained
1 cup chopped green onions
1/4 cup diced ham or crumbled bacon (optional)
Paprika

Preparation

Preheat oven to 425°F. Line twelve 1/3-cup muffin cups with paper liners. Combine first 7 ingredients in large bowl. Whisk sour cream, eggs and melted butter in another bowl. Add sour cream mixture to dry ingedients and stir just until moistened (do not overmix). Fold in corn kernels, green onions, and bacon or ham if using.

Divide batter equally among muffin cups. Lightly sprinkle paprika on top of each muffin. Bake until golden and tester inserted into center of muffins comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Cool on rack. (Can be prepared 8 hours ahead. Cover and let stand at room temperature.)

~ by tastydesu on June 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
