Ogre Burgers

What is it about a good burger on a sesame seed bun with all manner of fixings that just pulls on our heartstrings? The quintessential symbol of grilling season, I think almost everyone has a soft spot in their hearts for a burger. Its ease of preparation, the allure of the slightly smokiness from the grill, and the sheer fun of eating it with your hands I think makes this a favorite for many. I know it is for our household for sure!

I started making these burgers based on a recipe I found in a church cookbook years ago. It gave me a great base with which to start and I began to add additional ingredients and seasonings to make it my own. Made with 100% ogre 😉 I’m sure you’re all wondering where the ogre term came from…when I first made these, I had recently made a batch of run of the mill onion and beef burgers and they came out as tiny hockey pucks that were unattractive and boring to eat. I had decided then and there that I would no longer make tiny burgers…I was going to make burgers with some serious gravity…burgers huge enough that ogres would eat them! Throw in some beer and voila! Ogres were born!

I will usually make these burgers en masse, individually wrap them in press and seal wrap, and throw them in the freezer for a quick burger fix at a later date. These do freeze very well and do not need to be thawed out before throwing them onto the grill. Just be sure to monitor the internal temperature accordingly and cook them on a slightly lower heat than you normally would to allow for thorough cooking.

I prefer these topped with some smoked gouda, a slice of tomato, and some baby lettuces on a sesame seed bun. Heaven on a plate! 🙂

Ogre Burgers
As envisioned by TastyDesu

Ingredients

3lbs ground beef (85-90% lean)
1 package dry onion soup mix
2 beef bouillon cubes (crumbled)
1 teaspoon granulated garlic
1 teaspoon lemon pepper seasoning
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground red cayenne pepper
1 small onion, finely minced
4 tablespoons beer

Preparation

Mix all ingredients together and divide into 6-8 portions. Form patties, making sure to make an indentation in the middle so that it’s thinner there and thicker at the edges. Let stand overnight.

Grill over medium heat till done to your liking. Do not press down on the burgers while grilling…just turn them. Top with cheese if desired, serve.

~ by tastydesu on July 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “Ogre Burgers”

  1. This burger is making me sooooooo hungry. Awesome pics and the recipes sound delicious!

  2. I find it’s best to start with the heat on high, or over the hottest part of a charcoal grill, to sear the burgers. This seals in the juices, and gets those delightful grill marks you see above. Once they’re seared on both sides, turn down the heat, or move them to a cooler part of the grill to finish them off.

  3. It actually doesn’t ‘seal’ in the juices. try weighing 2 burgers, one that you seared off, and another that you didn’t. The weight charge is minimal. What searing DOES do is bring out a lot of flavour, so keep on searin’!

Leave a Reply

 
