Nacho Dogs

Nacho nacho man…nacho nacho mannnnn! Wait, sorry, I already did that post didn’t I? Oh well, as the saying goes, you can never have too much of a good thing, right? So continues my love affair with nachos.

There was a recent episode of Bobby Flay’s Throwdown where the challenge was hot dogs. Not just your run of the mill ballpark dogs, folks. No…we’re talking hot diggity dog gourmet dogs. The kind that make my mouth water just thinking about them. Bobby’s winning entry was a nacho dog adorned with guacamole, grilled tomato salsa, jalapenos, cheese, and tortilla chips. ***swoon***

After seeing those delightful dogs go onto take the Throwdown crown, there was no question in my mind that these would be gracing our palettes very soon. Enter in Labor Day weekend…a weekend I had already dubbed as grillfest extravaganza. This was the first thing to come off of the grill that weekend and it was every bit as delicious as I had hoped and dreamed.

While Bobby did post a fantastic guacamole recipe, I decided to forgo his and opted for my own tried and true recipe. What was really the highlight and star of this dish, however, was the grilled tomato chipotle salsa. Folks, let me tell you, this salsa was silly easy and the flavors were absolutely AMAZING. Packing a bit of a kick, it was flavorful and admittedly, I had a hard time not eating the whole batch I made just dipped with chips…the nacho dogs almost weren’t able to make an appearance!

So my advice is to make these dogs at your next grilling opportunity, or heck, just go out and make them asap, you don’t need any real reason other than that they’re awesome, do you? And…you may want to double batch the salsa. Just sayin…

Nacho Dogs
Adapted from Bobby Flay

Ingredients

For the Grilled Tomato-Chipotle Salsa:
4 plum tomatoes
3 tablespoons olive oil
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 teaspoons chipotle in adobo puree
3 tablespoons finely diced red onion

Guacamole, I used my own recipe posted here

8 kosher beef or turkey or chicken hot dogs
8 hot dog buns, split 3/4 of the way through
1 1/2 cups grated white Cheddar
8 pickled jalapenos, thinly sliced
Fried blue corn tortilla chips, coarsely crumbled

Preparation

For the Grilled Tomato-Chipotle Salsa:
Heat the grill to high. Brush tomatoes with 2 tablespoons of the canola oil and season with salt and pepper. Place on the grill and grill until charred on all sides. Remove from the grill, slice the tomatoes in half, remove the seeds and coarsely chop.

Whisk together the remaining 1 tablespoons of oil, vinegar, chipotle puree and onion in a small bowl, add the tomatoes and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper.

Preheat the grill to high. Grill hot dogs until golden brown on all sides, about 7 minutes. Remove to a plate. Place buns on the grill cut side down and grill until lightly golden brown, about 20 seconds. Place hot dogs in the buns, top with cheese, jalapeno, guacamole, salsa and tortilla chips.

~ by tastydesu on September 8, 2010.

3 Responses to “Nacho Dogs”

  1. I will take 4 (to start…)

    These would be great at the horse races…(Hint..)

  2. […] those Nacho Dogs I had posted about earlier? I decided to have its counterpart hot dog, the Texas Dog, that Bobby […]

  3. […] healthy snack to boot. I was inspired by Bobby Flay’s chipotle salsa that we had made for his nacho dogs. However, I was not inclined to fire up the grill in 20 degree weather for my salsa, so I adapted […]

Leave a Reply

 
