Chile, Chorizo, and Pancetta Cornbread

Still surrounded by the bounty of fresh ears of corn, I finally gave into my cravings and made this amazing cornbread this past weekend. I’ve always been a fan of cornbread and it’s always made for a nice stand alone side dish or, even better, when paired up with a nice rack of baby back ribs which is what I did!

I had bookmarked this recipe several years ago…I was thoroughly intrigued by the chiles and the chorizo here. Typically, when I think of cornbread, my mind wanders to a sweeter rather than savory version. Incorporating both creamed corn and sour cream, this promised to be very moist and flavorful. Definitely leaning more towards the savory side of the cornbread spectrum, I looked forward to giving it a try.

One can typically find 2 types of chorizo here in the states, Mexican or Spanish. Mexican chorizo is more similar to a fresh sausage in a casing whereas Spanish chorizo is typically already cured, is harder in texture and a bit spicier than its mexican counterpart. This recipe calls for mexican chorizo, however, I only had spanish chorizo on hand which I finedly diced and added pancetta to give it a milder taste and texture.

For the creamed corn that this recipe calls for, I decided to make use of more fresh corn and made another batch of fresh creamed corn and used that in lieu of canned product. The cornbread came out beautifully and I found that recipe is very easily adaptable. It was just about the best cornbread I had ever had, hands down and gave the ribs that I served with it a run for its money. Once you’ve had this cornbread, I’m not sure that you will ever want to go back to the sweet cornbread…I sure as heck don’t!

Chile, Chorizo, and Pancetta Cornbread
Adapted liberally from Epicurious | August 1977

Makes 8 generous servings

Ingredients

4 oz cured Spanish chorizo, casing removed and finely diced
4 oz pancetta, finely diced
1 1/4 cups yellow cornmeal
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup sour cream or yogurt
8 oz fresh creamed corn (canned can also be used)
2 chipotle chiles, finely diced
1 fresh jalapeno chile, seeded and finely chopped or 1 (4-ounce) can green chiles chopped
2 cups grated sharp Cheddar cheese (I used Cabot’s chipotle cheddar cheese)

optional equipment: 10″ cast iron skillet

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 365 degrees.

Saute chorizo and pancetta in cast iron skillet if using or any heavy skillet over medium-high heat for 5 minutes to render some of the fat. Put the sausage meat and fat in a large bowl. Add the cornmeal, baking powder, salt, eggs, sour cream, creamed corn, jalapeno, chipotles, and 1 1/4 cps of the cheese. Mix all ingredients thoroughly.

Generously butter a 1 1/2 quart casserole, 9 by 9-inch baking dish, or 10-inch cast iron skillet. Spoon in the cornbread batter. Sprinkle the top with the remaining 3/4 cup cheese. Bake for 45 to 55 minutes, until the cornbread turns golden brown. Be ready for your house to smell amazing. Serve hot.

Cornbread will keep well refrigerated in an airtight container for up to a week.

~ by tastydesu on September 13, 2010.

2 Responses to “Chile, Chorizo, and Pancetta Cornbread”

  1. Looks so flavorful!!! I like the combo!!

  2. Oh my, this sounds so delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe, we posted it on our Facebook page for all our fans to see! http://www.facebook.com/cabot 🙂
    ~Jacquelyn

Leave a Reply

 
