Roasted Tomato and Chipotle Salsa

I’m not sure if it’s the colder weather or if I’m subconsciously trying to sabotage my diet, but the last few weeks I’ve been inexplicably hungry…all of the time! My never ending craving for something to munch on led me to come up with this salsa as a way to feed the beast (as it were) and not pack on the 500lbs that my munchies would have undoubtedly resulted in if left unsupervised.

Salsas are a nice, fairly low calorie and satisfying snack as I’ve come to find. It sure as heck beats the pants off of potato chips and Doritos in my humble opinion! Take it one step further and make your own salsa and you’ll have a fresh and pretty healthy snack to boot. I was inspired by Bobby Flay’s chipotle salsa that we had made for his nacho dogs. However, I was not inclined to fire up the grill in 20 degree weather for my salsa, so I adapted his recipe for the oven and added my own twists.

Not only did this salsa do the trick and sooth the hungry beast inside, it’s become a staple go-to snack whenever we’re feeling the need for a quick bite. It keeps well in an airtight container in the fridge for about a week, but honestly, I doubt it’ll last past the first 24 hours!

Roasted Tomato and Chipotle Salsa
A TastyDesu creation

Ingredients

4 medium sized roma or plum tomatoes, quartered lengthwise
1/2 cup frozen sweet corn
1-2 chipotles in adobe sauce plus 1 tablespoon of adobe sauce
1/4 small red onion, minced fine
2 tablespoons cilantro, minced fine
2 teaspoons lime juice
Olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation

Place oven rack in closest position possible to broiler and turn the broiler on. In a large bowl, season tomatoes with salt and pepper to taste. Drizzle with about 2 tablespoons of olive oil and toss to coat well. Place tomatoes on a baking pan (I lined mine with aluminum foil for easy cleanup but you don’t have to) leaving about 1/2″ space between each section. Broil until tomatoes are slightly charred, about 5-7 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool for several minutes until they are easy to handle. Coarsely chop and place in large bowl.

In the same baking pan, place your corn. Broil these as well until slightly browned, about 3-4 minutes, checking every minute after the 2nd minute. Watch as the corn can quickly go from being tastily browned to inedibly burned in a matter of minutes! Once the kernels are browned to your satisfaction, remove from oven and add to the bowl with the roasted tomatoes.

Finely mince the chipotles and add them and the adobe sauce to the bowl. Add onion, cilantro, lime juice, and about 1 tablespoon of olive oil to the tomato/corn mixture and mix together well. Serve with chips or as an accompaniment to burritos, salads, tacos, etc.

~ by tastydesu on January 5, 2011.

One Response to “Roasted Tomato and Chipotle Salsa”

  1. I’ve never roasted corn nor tomatoes. Thanks for the info! Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

 
