Baked Bananas

Growing up, I had never been a big fan of bananas. I’m pretty sure it probably had something to do with my mom’s version of bread pudding which was served cold and was texturally very weird (sorry Mom). Now that I’m an adult and the master of my own culinary kingdom, I find that I only enjoy bananas in certain ways…slightly green if eaten by themselves (never the speckled ripe ones), or in banana bread…OR baked in the oven with, you know, a little bit of brown sugar and some rum and then served over some vanilla ice cream. If you ever wanted to taste a bit of simple heaven, it’s right here.

After having made this the first time the other weekend, I’ve since made it again 3 other times…even going so far as to call my parents to come over to “visit” with the sole ulterior motive of making this for them to try. With that first warm, bananaey, gooey bite I was in love…totally, completely, haplessly in love.

Simple, quick, and amazingly delicious, I am pretty confident that you too will fall for these bananas and will soon find yourself looking for any opportunity to make them again!

Baked Bananas
Adapted from Epicurious | 2006

Serves 2

Ingredients

2 bananas
3/4 tablespoon lime juice
1 1/2 tablespoon dark rum
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 tablespoon dark brown sugar

Butter or butter flavored cooking spray

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a 9x13x2 baking dish by spraying it lightly with some butter flavored cooking spray. You can also use butter, but I prefer the spray for ease of use and less calories. Peel bananas and carefully slice them in half lengthwise. Lay them into your prepared baking dish. Evenly pour lime juice and then rum over the bananas. Then evenly sprinkle cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar onto them. Bake for 15 minutes. Serve hot, topped with a scoop (or two) of vanilla ice cream. Drizzle any left over syrup onto the ice cream. Prepare to be blown away!

~ by tastydesu on January 26, 2011.

One Response to “Baked Bananas”

  1. […] and hate. I love it when it’s baked…be it in a cake, cookie, or just straight by itself (and seriously, if you’ve not made yourself some baked bananas yet, I’m not sure what ot…. But by itself, fresh, it’s a tough sell. In fact, I’ll only eat it if it’s still […]

Leave a Reply

 
