Williamstown, Wedding, and Baked Pears, oh my!

This has been the spring of weddings! In the span of 3 weeks, we’ve attended 2 weddings of very close friends…the first of which was held in Williamstown, MA amidst the beautiful Berkshires. I always love going up here to visit…nothing quite beats the beautiful vistas up here which are breathtaking and remind me that no matter how busy our lives can be, there should always be time to appreciate nature and the world around us.

One of the places that we always find ourselves paying homage to whenever we’re in the area is a great pub called The Olde Forge in Pittsfield. The home of a formidable array of beers both on tap and bottled, one of the highlights of the Forge is the wings. I’ve always had their regular ones, but had recently heard of a their own twist called Buff Orpington wings…wings deep fried to crisp perfection and then tossed in a sauce with a tinge of curry and orange peel. Not your conventional wings, yes, but these quickly jumped up my list as one of the best wings I’ve ever had. They’re that good!

For Zach and Bethany’s wedding, we were fortunate enough to stay at a little jewel of a bed and breakfast on the edge of Williamstown and Vermont called The Birches at Steep Acres Farm. Not only was it situated on 50 acres worth of farm complete with tons of hiking trails and places to mountain bike, but it had some of the best breakfasts that I’ve ever had in my life. Seriously. The. Best. Breakfasts. Ever.

The first morning we had these baked pears stuffed with granola and then topped with vanilla yogurt and then topped with some additional granola. Honestly, I think this very well may be what heaven would feel like on a plate. It’s one of the very few times that I immediately upon return home, I sought to figure out how to make this myself. Ok, maybe this sort of zeal isn’t that rare, but you get the drift at just how amazing I thought this was.

What I learned after trying this out myself at home was that this is probably one of the best, easiest, and dare I say, healthiest? breakfasts that I’ve ever made. Pears, yogurt, and granola. That’s literally all you need. The best part is that even though it’s so easy to prepare, the results to so utterly delicious that no matter who you make this for, they’ll think that you’re the culinary rock star of the year! I don’t know about you, but I could get used to being called that!

Baked Pears with Vanilla and Granola
As envisioned by TastyDesu and inspired by The Birches B&B

Ingredients

2 medium sized pears, preferably firm ones (I used Taylor’s Gold variety)
1/4 cup or so of your favorite granola (I used a bag of Trader Joe’s Pecan and Praline granola)
1 cup of vanilla yogurt
Cooking spray

Preparation

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Using a sharp knife, cut off about 1 inch from the top of each pear, then use the knife and carefully core the pear. Prepare a heat proof dish and spritz it evenly with cooking spray. Place pears in dish, original cut side up, and spritz lightly with more cooking spray. Cook 13-15 minutes, until pears are warmed through and slightly softened. Remove from oven and move onto serving plate. Stuff granola into each pear, top with vanilla, and garnish with additional granola. Serve while still warm.

~ by tastydesu on June 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
